Ari Bayuaji (b. 1975) is an Indonesian artist who moved to Canada in 2005. Dividing his time between Montreal and Bali, the artist is known for his installation work that transforms found and ready-made objects sourced from around the world. His works can be found in the collections of La Fondation Agnès B. in Paris, the Coral Triangle Center in Bali, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, and the Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec amongst others. His work has been exhibited in international solo exhibitions including Warin Lab Contemporary in Bangkok (2022), The Esplanade – Theatres on The Bay in Singapore (2014 and 2019), Nunu Fine Art in Taipei (2018 and 2021), Parkhaus im Malkastenpark in Düsseldorf (2018) and through residencies with the Agnès B. Foundation in Sainte-Alvère (2017), Kunsthal Rotterdam (2017) and Redbase Foundation in Jogjakarta (2016). His Weaving the Ocean series is slated for upcoming solo shows at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts in Singapore, Mizuma Gallery in Singapore, Bega Valley Regional Gallery of New South Wales, Redbase Gallery in Sydney, Art Jog in Jogiakarta, Projet Casa and Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain in Montreal. 

 

On  Weaving the Ocean (2020-ongoing):

 

This series transforms the jetsam of plastic ropes disentangled from the roots of mangrove trees along the coast of Indonesia into hauntingly beautiful tapestries inspired by the rich textile culture of the artist’s homeland. 

 

Aesthetically engaging, Bayuaji’s tapestries are the result of a creative salvage and upcycling process that saw the artist and locally recruited assistants scour the shoreline of Bali in order to collect and clean colorful plastic ropes that washed up on shore, and then unravel them into fine threads. In collaboration with a traditional Balinese weaving workshop, Bayuaji designs and creates unique textile pieces in an environmentally conscious way that also provides financial security to local crafts persons and economies that were negatively impacted by the global pandemic. Bayuaji’s equally stunning sculptural practice also draws upon the detritus of the ocean as source material – including ropes, minerals and other elements that wash up on shore.

Ari Bayuaji (né en 1975) est un artiste indonésien qui s'est installé au Canada en 2005. Partageant son temps entre Montréal et Bali, l'artiste est connu pour son travail d'installation qui transforme des objets trouvés provenant du monde entier. Ses œuvres figurent dans les collections de la Fondation Agnès B. à Paris, du Coral Triangle Center à Bali, du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et du Musée national des beaux-arts du Québec, entre autres. Son travail a été présenté dans le cadre d'expositions individuelles internationales, notamment au Warin Lab Contemporary à Bangkok (2022), à The Esplanade - Theatres on The Bay à Singapour (2014 et 2019), à Nunu Fine Art à Taipei (2018 et 2021), au Parkhaus im Malkastenpark à Düsseldorf (2018) et dans le cadre de résidences avec la Fondation Agnès B. à Sainte-Alvère (2017), le Kunsthal Rotterdam (2017) et la Redbase Foundation à Jogjakarta (2016). Sa série Weaving the Ocean fera l'objet de prochaines expositions personnelles à la Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts de Singapour, à la Mizuma Gallery de Singapour, à la Bega Valley Regional Gallery of New South Wales, à la Redbase Gallery de Sydney, à Art Jog à Jogiakarta, au Projet Casa et à Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain à Montréal.

 

 

Au sujet de la série Weaving the Ocean (2020-en cours) :

Cette série transforme les jets à la mer ("jetsam")  - cordes en plastique démêlées des racines des palétuviers le long de la côte indonésienne -  en tapisseries d'une beauté obsédante inspirées par la riche culture textile du pays d'origine de l'artiste.

Esthétiquement attrayantes, les tapisseries de Bayuaji sont le résultat d'un processus créatif de récupération et de recyclage. L'artiste et des assistants recrutés localement parcourent le littoral de Bali afin de collecter et de nettoyer des cordes en plastique colorées échouées sur le rivage, puis de les démêler en fils fins. En collaboration avec un atelier de tissage traditionnel balinais, Bayuaji conçoit et crée des pièces textiles uniques dans le respect de l'environnement, tout en apportant une sécurité financière aux artisans et aux économies locales qui ont subi l'impact négatif de la pandémie mondiale. La pratique sculpturale de Bayuaji, tout aussi étonnante, s'inspire également des détritus de l'océan comme matériau de base - notamment des cordes, des minéraux et d'autres éléments qui s'échouent sur le rivage.