Aqua11: Miami 2011

1 - 3 December 2011

Wednesday, November 30th from 8-11 pm:  Preview Party sponsored by Modern Painters

December 1 - 3, 2011 (open daily from 11 am - 8 pm)
December 4, 2011 (open from 11 am - 4pm) 

The Aqua Hotel
1530 Collins Avenue 
Miami Beach, FL 33139

ROOM #224

 

Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain is pleased to present Safari, a collaboration between Oscar-winning director Denys Arcand and artist Adad Hannah commissioned for the exhibition Big Bang (November 2011), celebrating the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ 150th Anniversary.

Arcand and Hannah developed a 7 minute scene that takes place in the back of a nightclub in the middle of the 1980’s. The scene is inspired by and revolves around the Safari Seating Environment, designed by the Florence based Archizoom Associati in 1968, its sleek white sides and leopard-print covered seats providing the stage for the set of actions performed on it. The actors featured in Safari are all employees of the museum with no formal acting training. After casting and workshopping the scene the artists shot the same 7 minute sequence from six different angles. Each actor had a set trajectory, performing certain actions at a set place in the timeline and remaining as still as possible the rest of the time. The result is a staccato and haunting recording of a single scene performed over and over for the camera. 

The photographs from Safari are yet another angle onto the same enigmatic scene, allowing a closer reading of the characters and actions which make up the work. Details from the scene take on a life of their own as the camera focuses on small sections of the overall tableau. In contrast to the slowly moving action in the videos, the photographs freeze the action, revealing the lush fibres of an unraveling story.

This will be the first time this work has been exhibited outside of Canada.  

The artists wish to thank The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts for their support and the employees for their performances. They also wish to thank the entire production crew who made this project possible.

The gallery would like to thank the Canada Council and the Société de développement des entreprises culturelles for their support.

 

LINKS

Leah Sandals. "Canada in Miami: Not-So-Cold Comforts" Canadian Art online December 8, 2011.
Sur la frange
 (blog - in French)
Nathalie Petrowski. "Denys Arcand et Adad Hannah: un safari nocture" La Presse November 5, 2011 (in French).
Éric Clement. "Denys Arcand et Adad Hannah feront Big Bang au MBAM" La Presse July 23, 2011 (in French)
For more information on the exhibition Big Bang at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts click here.
For more information on Adad Hannah please visit his website: adadhannah.com

Aqua11: Miami 2011

1 - 3 Décembre 2011

Vernissage VIP : le mercredi 30 novembre de 20h00 à 23h00

1 - 3 décembre 2011 (heures d'ouverture de 11h00 à 20h00)
4 décembre 2011 (de 11h00 à 16h00) 

The Aqua Hotel
1530 Collins Avenue 
Miami Beach, FL 33139

CHAMBRE #224


La galerie Pierre-François-Ouellette art contemporain est heureuse de présenter Safari,  une collaboration entre le réalisateur primé aux Oscars Denys Arcand et l’artiste visuel Adad Hannah. Safari a été réalisée pour l’exposition Big Bang (novembre 2011), qui marque le 150ème anniversaire du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. 

Arcand et Hannah ont élaboré une scène de 7 minutes se déroulant au fond d’une boîte de nuit au milieu des années 1980. La scène est étroitement inspirée du canapé modulaire Safari, conçu en 1968 par l’agence de design florentine Archizoom Associati. Les côtés blancs et lisses du meuble, ainsi que ses sièges recouverts de faux léopard ont servi de décor à une série d’actions. Les acteurs de Safari sont tous des employés du musée, et n’ont aucune formation professionnelle d’acteur. Après un casting et un travail collectif sur la scène, les artistes ont tourné la même séquence de 7 minutes depuis six points de vue différents. Chaque acteur avait une trajectoire déterminée, produisant certaines actions à un moment précis de la chronologie, et demeurant le plus immobile possible le reste du temps. Il en a résulté un staccato visuel et l’impression obsédante d’une même scène jouée et rejouée devant la caméra. 

Les photographies de Safari proposent encore une autre perspective de cette même scène énigmatique. En saisissant des sections individuelles du tableau d’ensemble, elles permettent l’existence autonome de détails de la scène et offrent une lecture plus serrée des personnages et des actions qui constituent l’œuvre. Contrastant avec l’action lente des vidéos, les photographies figent le mouvement, révélant les riches fibres d’un récit qui se tisse.

Ceci sera la première présentation de l’œuvre à l’extérieur du Canada. 

Les artistes souhaitent remercier le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal pour son appui, ainsi que les employés du musée pour leurs interprétations. Ils tiennent également à remercier tous les membres de l’équipe de production pour avoir rendu possible ce projet.

La galerie tient à souligner le soutien du Conseil des arts du Canada et de la SODEC.

 

LIENS

Leah Sandals. « Canada in Miami: Not-So-Cold Comforts » Canadian Art online 8 décembre 2011 (en anglais).
Sur la frange (blogue)
Nathalie Petrowski. « Denys Arcand et Adad Hannah: un safari nocture » La Presse 5 novembre 2011.
Éric Clement. « Denys Arcand et Adad Hannah feront Big Bang au MBAM »La Presse 23 juillet 2011
Cliquez ici pour le site de l'expo Big Bang au Musée des beaux-art de Montréal.
Site de l'artiste : adadhannah.com