Michaëlle Sergile - Gesture : Body movements in political discourse

19 September - 8 November 2020

A man who has a language consequently possesses the world expressed and implied by that language. What we are getting at becomes plain: Mastery of language affords remarkable power.1

By language, I mean words, sounds, voice, intonation, gestures, sighs, silences and posture. I have been interested in the great leaders of Afrodescendant and African communities and how they communicate with a majority when they are in a "minority" position.

 

1. Fanon, F. (2008). ​Black skin, white masks.​ Retrieved from https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.lib-ezproxy.concordia.ca

 

Michaëlle Sergile is an artist and curator working mainly on texts and books from the postcolonial period from 1950 to the present. Her artistic work aims to understand and rewrite the history of Black communities, and more specifically of women, through weaving. Often perceived as a medium of craftsmanship and categorized as feminine, the artist uses the lexicon of weaving to question the relationships of gender and race.

 

She has exhibited at the ArtHelix gallery in New York, at the Miami Art Fair and has participated in several group exhibitions in Montreal including Place des Arts, Art Mûr gallery and the Conseil des Arts de Montréal. She has also received several prizes and scholarships during her academic career, including a grant from the Fonds de recherche Société et Culture du Québec (FRQSC).

 

She is currently project manager and curator for the Nigra Iuventa platform where she co-curated the exhibition ​Subalternes created by and for black women in Quebec, as well as the exhibition ​Je sais pourquoi chante l'oiseau en cage at the Darling Foundry, the Centre culturel Georges-Vanier and the CDEx last February.

 

Exhibitions September - November 2020 - Michaëlle Sergile

VOILÀ CE QUI ME SOMME À LES SOMMER 

This is what compels me to compels them Livart
05 Sept. - 27 Sept.

https://lelivart.com/fr/programmation/boilingpoint

_______________

Gesture : Body movements in political discourses 

Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain
19 Sept. - 08 Nov.

https://www.pfoac.com/en/exhibitions/209/overview/

_______________

TEXTILE, TEXTUALITÉ, IDENTITÉ Rad Hourani

22 Sept. - 16 Oct.

https://www.radhourani.com/pages/foundation-about

_______________

RESISTANCE AND RESILIENCE

Warren G Flowers Art Gallery
22 Oct. - 28 Nov.

https://www.dawsoncollege.qc.ca/art-gallery/

Michaëlle Sergile - Gesture : Body movements in political discourse

19 Septembre - 8 Novembre 2020

Un homme qui possède une langue possède par conséquent le monde exprimé et impliqué par cette langue. Ce à quoi nous arrivons devient clair : La maîtrise de la langue confère un pouvoir remarquable.1

 

J'entends par langage, les mots, les sons, la voix, l'intonation, les gestes, les soupirs, les silences et la posture. Je me suis intéressée aux grand.e.s leaders des communautés afrodescendantes et africaines et à leur façon de communiquer avec une majorité lorsqu'ils.elles sont en position de «minoritaire».

 

Michaëlle Sergile est une artiste et commissaire indépendante travaillant principalement des textes et des ouvrages de la période postcoloniale de 1950 à aujourd'hui. Son travail artistique a pour vocation de comprendre et de réécrire l'histoire des communautés noires, et plus précisément celle des femmes, par le tissage. Medium souvent perçu comme de l'artisanat et catégorisé comme féminin, l'artiste utilise le lexique du tissage pour questionner les rapports de domination de genre et d'ethnie.

 

Elle a exposé à la galerie ArtHelix à New York, à la Miami Art Fair et a participé à plusieurs expositions collectives à Montréal notamment à la Place des Arts, à la galerie Art Mûr ainsi qu'au Conseil des Arts de Montréal. Elle a également é son actif plusieurs prix et bourses reçues durant son parcours académique dont la bourse des Fonds de recherche Société et Culture du Québec (FRQSC).

 

Elle ​est actuellement chargée de projet et commissaire pour la plateforme ​Nigra Iuventa ​ou elle a ​co-commissarié la première exposition ​créée par et pour des femmes noires au Québec laquelle réunissait plusieurs artistes locales et internationales. En février 2020, elle a co-commissarié l'exposition ​Je sais pourquoi chante l'oiseau en cage inspirée de l'autobiographie de l'auteure américaine Maya Angelou. Suivant un parcours en trois étapes, l'exposition se déroula à la Fonderie Darling, au Centre culturel Georges-Vanier et au CDEx.

 

1. Fanon, F. (2008). Black skin, white masks.​ Retrieved from https://ebookcentral-proquest-com.lib-ezproxy.concordia.ca

 

Expositions septembre - novembre 2020 - Michaëlle Sergile

VOILÀ CE QUI ME SOMME À LES SOMMER

This is what compels me to compels them

Livart
05 sept. - 27 sept.

https://lelivart.com/fr/programmation/boilingpoint

_______________

Gesture : Body movements in political discourses 

Pierre-François Ouellette art contemporain
19 sept. - 08 nov.

https://www.pfoac.com/en/exhibitions/209/overview/

_______________

TEXTILE, TEXTUALITÉ, IDENTITÉ 

Rad Hourani

22 sept. - 16 oct.

https://www.radhourani.com/pages/foundation-about

_______________

RESISTANCE AND RESILIENCE

Warren G Flowers Art Gallery
22 oct. - 28 nov.

https://www.dawsoncollege.qc.ca/art-gallery/